The Student Room Group

QMUL - MSc Mental Health: Psychological Therapies - Worth it?

Hello everyone! I’m a third year psychology student, and I was looking at places to apply to since I want to eventually become a Counselling Psychologist. Since i’m an international student, I’m not sure if I can take on a part-time certificate or diploma in therapy, so i’m going for the next best thing! A masters degree in Psychological Therapies at QMUL.

That said, I can barely find any info on it about it’s course quality and module detail. I don’t want to waste time but QMUL is really affordable compared to KCL or UCL. Is the course worth it? What’s it like?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by BunnyBomb1999
Hello everyone! I’m a third year psychology student, and I was looking at places to apply to since I want to eventually become a Counselling Psychologist. Since i’m an international student, I’m not sure if I can take on a part-time certificate or diploma in therapy, so i’m going for the next best thing! A masters degree in Psychological Therapies at QMUL.

That said, I can barely find any info on it about it’s course quality and module detail. I don’t want to waste time but QMUL is really affordable compared to KCL or UCL. Is the course worth it? What’s it like?

Hello!
I'm in a similar position to you too, well I graduated about 3 years ago now and have spent the past few years gaining some experience in mental health but really trying to move forward career wise.
I have applied to other courses/posts like Trainee Psychological Wellbeing Practitioner but haven't made it past interview stage and getting frustrated with being stagnant.

I've looked in to doing the MSc Psychological Therapies at QMUL before too but just not sure if it will be worth it etc.
Reply 2
Original post by BunnyBomb1999

Hey!