The Student Room Group

Psychology or Law

I'm stuck between doing psychology or law at uni, I've always wanted to do law like pre lockdown/a levels I was obsessed with it, I went to debate clubs, model un, work experience, and politics club I loved it! but during lockdown, I became quite depressed and lost interest in everything I loved beforehand, when I joined sixth form in Sept 2020 I was still considering doing law may be no longer a dream but it was still a path I assumed I was always going to do. I chose politics, psychology and English lit at levels, I started hating politics and started loving psychology, it was like a newfound interest. But I'm still stuck between doing psychology for a degree or law (I'm taking a gap year ). I don't want everything I did beforehand to be a waste of time :frown: Plus I have no experience or anything that I've done to stand out for psychology, I just don't know what to do!
Hello! In the exact same position as you! I do psychology, politics and law at A level, and I am also torn between psychology and law at uni.
It might be a good idea to look at what you want to get out of each degree, ie, what do you want to do post-graduation? You could look at career prospects for each degree and see what appeals to you, you could also look at the modules you would be studying for each degree and which appeal to you more.
You could also draw up a pros and cons table for both degrees. Either way, if you took psychology, you could always do a GDL afterwards. Or if you did law, i believe there is also a psychology conversion course. Of course it would mean an extra year of study though.

Hopefully this helps?
(In terms of work experience, look at volunteering with the NSPCC, or the Samaritans)
You can become a lawyer (of either variety) with a psychology degree; you can't become a psychologist with a law degree.