The Student Room Group

HMRC is doing an investigation on my family :(

im so worried. my parents are immigrants from India who work day and night to make ends meet - we are a poor working class family but thanks to my grandparents who moved here in the 60s, we have several properties that we rent out. my dad suffers illnesses and had to quit his job so his sole income is rent which is like 5k per year. anyway, my parents didn't know that we were supposed to wholly declare the rental income to HMRC due to language barrier and other things and know they are getting investigated. I'm so scared as we are already struggling for money and now they may face 500% penalties of tax credit overpayment. does anyone have any information on what we can do? we don't care about missing out on the tax credit we just don't want penalties as we could be forced to move back to our home country. i am a medical student and I do not want this to happen.
Wait what how is ur dad renting out properties and getting only 5k per year that makes no sense......
Original post by Anonymous
Wait what how is ur dad renting out properties and getting only 5k per year that makes no sense......

Its only a 2 bed property and for some reason the rent is very low - I'm not too sure about the actual numbers but if you do the maths I get the full student finance maintenance loan which means that my combined parent income is less than 15,000 per year and both my parents are working...
so yes it does make sense unfortunately
Reply 3
It's gone from several rental properties to one, and both your parents working to your dad quitting his job and relying on rent, to them both working.

Suggest you need the full facts before asking for advice from anyone. Try the Citizens Advice Bureau, or HMRC themselves:

https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/debt-and-money/help-with-debt/dealing-with-urgent-debts/dealing-with-income-tax-arrears/