The Student Room Group

What is the most interesting thing you've learned while researching universities?

Researching universities to apply to can bring up a number of interesting anecdotes or key pieces of information which are vital to you and your studies. It can also just bring up really cool pieces of information about a institution that you may never had heard of before! But what's your favourite thing you have learnt when you've been researching universities?

My favourite thing I've learnt is that you can do a top up course in Contemporary Circus and Physical Theatre at Bath Spa university - as an aspiring aerial artist, I'd love to take this course!

Another one of my favourites is that the buildings at the University of Sussex were built to look like different objects - including the library being designed to look like an open book!

What's the most interesting thing you have learnt whilst researching universities, or what's your best fun fact about the university you're studying at?

Let us know your thoughts!
(edited 1 year ago)

Scroll to see replies

Stormzy used to live in the town where everyone at my university lives :lol: pretty sure he got in a scrap.
Original post by parmezanne
Stormzy used to live in the town where everyone at my university lives :lol: pretty sure he got in a scrap.

That's a good one! Always good to have a famous face around the area :biggrin:
a few years ago my uni used a turtle to bite through a ribbon made of leaves to open up some labs, looking at the video its actually quite cute
Charles Darwin studied at the University of Edinburgh. :smile:
Albert Einstein once gave a lecture at Nottingham Trent University.
Original post by MonsoonFlower

Albert einsteins section of his blackboard is in the physics dept at Nottingham uni.
Lancaster uni has a tree in the library called Norma.
James May was in Pendle College Lancaster uni.
Lancaster uni has a varsity with York called 'Roses'
Original post by okayykayy