The Student Room Group

Accused of plagiarism, Help!!

Hi, Im in first year and just got my feedback for one of my short 500 word essays. They don’t count towards your grade, you just get feedback on them. Well one of the tutors said that the plagiarism score was 50%, and that I need to go to a meeting and talk about it. I’ve looked through the similarity report and there are only about 2 sentences that could maybe be accidentally plagiarised? The rest is just sources and quotes.
I feel so bad because I didn’t take it as seriously as I normally would as I had a lot going on at the time of writing, so was pretty overwhelmed. So I didn’t check it over properly, and I did overly rely on one source more than others (so that’s my guess as to why the percent is so high??) But I had absolutely no intention of plagiarising anything. She also said that I copied a sentence from a student’s essay from some other uni, which I DEFINITELY didn’t!
So stressed right now! Please any advice or ideas as to what to expect??
Original post by Anonymous
Hi, Im in first year and just got my feedback for one of my short 500 word essays. They don’t count towards your grade, you just get feedback on them. Well one of the tutors said that the plagiarism score was 50%, and that I need to go to a meeting and talk about it. I’ve looked through the similarity report and there are only about 2 sentences that could maybe be accidentally plagiarised? The rest is just sources and quotes.
I feel so bad because I didn’t take it as seriously as I normally would as I had a lot going on at the time of writing, so was pretty overwhelmed. So I didn’t check it over properly, and I did overly rely on one source more than others (so that’s my guess as to why the percent is so high??) But I had absolutely no intention of plagiarising anything. She also said that I copied a sentence from a student’s essay from some other uni, which I DEFINITELY didn’t!