The Student Room Group

How many hours a week is university?

A full time student how many hours per week do you study. 9-4pm?
Original post by Sufyl

University isn’t school lessons can finish as late as 7. Start time varies
(edited 1 year ago)
Original post by Sufyl

Hi,

Contact hours at university vary from subject to subject, so it is best to consult your university's subject page to try and find more specific information. For example, however, I am an English student and in my first year had 12 contact hours a week. The rest of the time we were advised to spend reading, researching and writing our assignments. As a general rule, we were told that we should think of university as a 9-5 job, putting in 40 hours of work a week. Of course, the hours that you put in are flexible and do not have to be as strict as working 9-5 Monday to Friday; lots of students like working on the weekends!

I hope this helped.

Jasmine (an Official University of Southampton Rep):smile:
Original post by Sufyl

Hi!

It depends on what course and university you go to for your contact hours. I study a humanities subject and usually have around 12 hours per week contact time. Roughly 4 hours per module I do. However, I am currently doing my dissertation and have less contact time but I am doing more independent work. For the most part, I did my 12 hours contact time plus (give or take) and tried to treat university like a 9-5 job. Given that my dissertation is due soon, I am studying a lot more than I did in previous years.

I hope this helps,
Sara :smile:
Original post by Sufyl

Hello @Sufyl
As the other ambassadors have said it really does depend on your course. Some are lecture and contact time heavy and others only have a few hours a week.