The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

TMA Feedback - Deflated

Does anyone else get like this?

I’m only in my first year and on my first module and not studied since A-Level days which was 17 years ago.

I achieved 90 on TMA01 and just received 75 on TMA02 which I think are great.

However I have 2 concerns

1. My tutor said I went off topic for some of my essay and this made me feel deflated. Any tips for this area?

2. Even though referencing was not part of the marking grid for the first 2 TMAs I know from TMA 3 it is and I want to get this right, however it seems what I read online, what the OU module website says and what my tutor says has all conflicted. Should I be clarifying this further with him to ensure I am on the “right page” as him re referencing?

Thanks.
That's some good feedback there! Far better to have something to work on, and to know where you went wrong, than to have no clue. It would be far worse if you got a really low mark for a TMA, with no meaningful feedback whatsoever.

Long story short, learn to love feedback. It is how you improve. Without it, you have no idea what your weaknesses are and what you need to be working on. Getting deflated about it is only going to make your experience a miserable one, because feedback becomes much more critical in levels 2 and 3. By then, you are expected to know what you're doing. You will need a much thicker skin.

Also, don't forget that your tutor is there to help. If you feel you are having trouble staying on topic, ask them for advice. They know your work better than any of us, so will be able to provide much more specific suggestions.