The Student Room Group

What should I expect with a final year dissertation?

For context, I’m doing a computing/IT related degree. Now in my final year.

I know that I will have to do a dissertation this year, but what should I be expecting? I’ve never done one before so I don’t really know what I’ll be facing?

How do they compare to the regular assignments/reports that I’ve been used to doing up until now? From what I’ve heard they are extremely time consuming and difficult?

I assume there will be a practical element we’re I will have to actually make something as well as write it all up?

When you’re given the dissertation brief, what exactly does it typically ask you to do? I’ve heard some say you have to choose a question to research, are you given a few questions to choose from or do you have to find a choose your own?

What exactly do you then have to write up and discuss ? Are dissertations usually issues at the very beginning of the semester and do you submit them just before the end of the academic year?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Sorry, I apologise for the spelling mistakes. Predictive text!
Reply 2
Bump
Original post by Anonymous

I know that I will have to do a dissertation this year, but what should I be expecting? I’ve never done one before so I don’t really know what I’ll be facing?

How do they compare to the regular assignments/reports that I’ve been used to doing up until now? From what I’ve heard they are extremely time consuming and difficult?

I assume there will be a practical element we’re I will have to actually make something as well as write it all up?

When you’re given the dissertation brief, what exactly does it typically ask you to do? I’ve heard some say you have to choose a question to research, are you given a few questions to choose from or do you have to find a choose your own?