The Student Room Group

Which direction should I take?

Hi, thanks for anyone helping !
so a little context about my situation. I am currently studying in a part time music course and a full time performing arts course. At the beginning of this year, I had decided to apply for some of the top drama schools, and have gotten offers from 3 of them.
However throughout the past year, my passion / love for the world of theatre, acting and performance has died down a little bit. I don't feel as though I am fit enough for the industry and therefore I would like to do a different course in University, which is the Criminology with Psychology degree. This course seems more fascinating to me and I am interested in applying for clearing in order to get offers for those.
Due to the fact that I had gotten into some of the top drama schools in the whole of the UK. I feel weird, I feel like I should want to go there, I mean I had worked 3 years into my course at college, so I should want to go to drama schools. I want to still be going to auditions in this industry but I do want to move to a subject that fascinates me more. Is this a wise idea? Is drama school worth it in the end? Am I going to regret it when it comes down to it?
Hi :smile: always follow your heart. Drama schools are very, very intense to prepare you for the industry. And if it isn’t something you love and you have a passion for, I would say do not go. Where have you got offers from?
Reply 2
Original post by whatacatchdonnie
Hi :smile: always follow your heart. Drama schools are very, very intense to prepare you for the industry. And if it isn’t something you love and you have a passion for, I would say do not go. Where have you got offers from?

Hi thanks for the reply !
I got offers from Italia Conti, MOUNTVIEW and GSA. They’re quite good drama schools and I am happy I was able to get offers, I feel bad for not wanting drama school anymore. Last year I would’ve done anything for offers like these.