The Student Room Group

The Truth About Being a Coventry University Student...

Good afternoon everyone, today I’m going to be letting you know what it’s actually like being a student at Coventry University. My name is Dan and I’m a BSc Computer Science student, currently on my Placement Year. I have spent most of my time here living on campus, but even if you choose to commute these facts will still be useful to know.

You’re Going to Find out the Lecturers are Actually Your Friend

Throughout your time in School, you might have felt like your teachers treated you a bit like a child, I know I did and I had even experienced this dynamic with my teachers during Sixth Form. At Coventry University, there is an admirable culture of students and lecturers truly getting along, and all lecturers I’ve personally had speak to me more as a peer than a student, to the point where I will start looking forward to classes because it is such a safe environment to make mistakes and ask questions. This in turn leads myself and the people around me learning more and growing in confidence within our academic ventures.

You’re Going to Meet a Lot of Different People

You have probably had similar friendship groups your whole life, and shared similar life experiences growing up with them. Moving to University gives you the chance to talk to people who grew up in completely different ways to you, as we are all put into a huge melting pot. Students at Coventry come from all over the world and from a wide array of cities in the UK, and it’s truly amazing how many different types of music, food and culture you can discover here, as well as how much you can learn from other people.

You’re Constantly Going to be Discovering New Parts of Coventry