The Student Room Group

Solicitor to Barrister - Practical Considerations

Hi all - looking for some advice for a potential round of pupillage applications this winter.

I am currently a 2PQE solicitor at a US firm in the City (where I did my TC), practicing in the Disputes practice (largely international arbitration). I have a first in History from Oxbridge, and decent GDL and LPC results. I like my job, and while I think I would ultimately prefer to be a barrister, do not want to do anything that could risk losing my current role.

I have a couple of practical questions about the application process while working as a solicitor:

1. Will sets still expect me to complete a mini-pupillage at their set (e.g. 20 Essex note it is a requirement, but wondering if anyone has any experience of any set waiving such a requirement)?
2. How do you choose appropriate references? I am now 8 years on from university, so an academic reference will be fairly out of date, but obviously cannot offer any professional references.
3. How did you handle attending interviews? Did sets show some flexibility when scheduling them?

Thanks in advance.
Hello,