The Student Room Group

Law Conversion Timeline

Not really sure how to word this, but I'm an English student at Durham (incoming finalist) considering transferring over to law via GDL (probably IP/employment/litigation/etc., something where case law comes up a lot). I have a lottt of extra-curriculars (mostly in volunteering in welfare/mental health, not a lot of advocacy/debating unfortunately), but mostly 67+ grades although I don't have any for the year just gone because of boycotts- and I'm a bit confused about what the timeline is in terms of applying for minis/vac schemes. (I'm not even really sure whether I'd like to be a barrister or a solicitor- being a barrister sounds more varied and practical, but so much more competitive and precarious where I already know my non-law background puts me at a bit of a disadvantage). Is there any point in me applying for these things, and if so when should that be done? How do I decide what I want to do (re: bar/pupillage) if I haven't done any legal training yet? Thanks in advance, my head is spinning a bit- hence the messy message.

NB: I am looking at doing a few online courses in advance of writing any legal applications e.g., with FutureLearn, because I know that no matter how many extra-curriculars I have, they won't be hugely helpful if I can't link them back to law. But I'm deeply aware that they may be more useful for Vac Scheme applications, as 'commitment to the Bar' seems to be a separate thing from 'how much you like law itself.' Is that a correct assumption? (I'll probably do them anyway as they look really interesting, just curious!)
(edited 9 months ago)
Original post by zazzy.r