The Student Room Group

Combining uni with a job

Hey guys, im gonna enter uni in 2 weeks. Do y'all recommend me combining uni w a part time job,when im still studying to get money in the meanwhile and save it up? What y'all think
Pretty common for people to do this. I wouldn't recommend working more than 8-12 hours a week (probably 15 at most) if you can avoid it during term time while studying full time, to ensure it doesn't negatively affect your studies.

Useful to have some additional income alongside your maintenance loan though, and it can be handy experience to develop useful transferable skills for future jobs and to get some work references.
(edited 8 months ago)
Reply 2
Original post by artful_lounger
Pretty common for people to do this. I wouldn't recommend working more than 8-12 hours (probably 15 at most) if you can avoid it during term time while studying full time, to ensure it doesn't negatively affect your studies.

Useful to have some additional income alongside your maintenance loan though, and it can be handy experience to develop useful transferable skills for future jobs and to get some work references.

Im talking about like 4h a day. I dont know if that will make my studies worse, but I don't see uni as my main focus, just going till i figure out thing
Original post by gavran
Im talking about like 4h a day. I dont know if that will make my studies worse, but I don't see uni as my main focus, just going till i figure out thing

I've edited my post to make cleared I was referring to hours a week.

4 hours a day is a 20 day week if you're doing 5 days a week - that's most likely not conducive to studying full time. If you're studying part-time then that's more reasonable, if you are able to arrange your working hours around your academic timetable.