The Student Room Group

Applying to POLIS at Cambridge

I am a recent graduate from Yale with a political science and human rights background thinking about applying to the POLIS program or MPhil in Public Policy at Cambridge but my GPA is a 3.64.

Do I have a chance given that Cambridge requires a 3.85 and a 3.75 for the MPP?
Original post by amalaltareb
I am a recent graduate from Yale with a political science and human rights background thinking about applying to the POLIS program or MPhil in Public Policy at Cambridge but my GPA is a 3.64.

Do I have a chance given that Cambridge requires a 3.85 and a 3.75 for the MPP?

It depends what the 'human rights background' is. It's a fairly large 'miss' on the grades, but POLIS takes a lot of account of practical/real world experience, so if you have some decent professional experience that will contribute to the course, both your ability and discussion for others, then it's possible.
Reply 2
Original post by threeportdrift
It depends what the 'human rights background' is. It's a fairly large 'miss' on the grades, but POLIS takes a lot of account of practical/real world experience, so if you have some decent professional experience that will contribute to the course, both your ability and discussion for others, then it's possible.

Thank you@threeportdrift for your feedback, much appreciated. Given that I just graduated in December, I don’t have much of a professional experience other than teaching and volunteering at a local school this year. However, I was part of an undergraduate human rights program at Yale Law School, conducted research and advocacy relevant to the current civil war in Yemen (I grew up there as a child), and started a youth advocacy soon-to-be nonprofit focusing on the Uyghur genocide.

I think I will shoot my shot with POLIS but would it weaken my application if I also apply to the public policy program? Would my experience be considered “professional” enough?