The Student Room Group

is criminology a useless degree?

hi, I'm planning on doing criminology and sociology as an undergraduate degree but I'm scared since a lot of people normally advise against this since there isn't a lot of job prospects.
I'd love to work in the civil service or become a detective constable. But with the high demand of students taking criminology degrees, I am worried whether it will turn to be useless. any advice? or is it just the nerves talking.
I'm in my final year doing a BA Criminology degree at Durham. If you enjoy the subject, I wouldn't worry.

There are plenty of doors a criminology degree opens for you: Social work, civil service, police, probation, teaching and more. All things similar to what I want to do when I graduate! I sometimes worry the same thing, but, I love the course. Having the degree opens a lot of doors, and I love the people I have met through it and have made friends for life- I've even discovered that I enjoy writing essays????

My fellow criminology friends all would say the same thing.

100% the nerves talking. And enjoy uni! Don't forget to bring loads of cold & flu remedies for freshers week!
Reply 2
Original post by Yorkshire Tea
I'm in my final year doing a BA Criminology degree at Durham. If you enjoy the subject, I wouldn't worry.

There are plenty of doors a criminology degree opens for you: Social work, civil service, police, probation, teaching and more. All things similar to what I want to do when I graduate! I sometimes worry the same thing, but, I love the course. Having the degree opens a lot of doors, and I love the people I have met through it and have made friends for life- I've even discovered that I enjoy writing essays????

My fellow criminology friends all would say the same thing.

100% the nerves talking. And enjoy uni! Don't forget to bring loads of cold & flu remedies for freshers week!