The Student Room Group
University College London, University of London
University College London
London

IMB - UCL - Application help

Hi. I am a current year 13 student looking to apply for IMB at UCL.

I am predicted A*A*A* in business, psychology and sociology and I am applying for finance and international management at other unis.

Can someone help me in how to structure my personal statement? I don't have a background in IT or tech but I do so in business and finance, and this was a course at UCL that would accept me without A level in maths.

Thanks!
Hi, I am a IMB student at UCL. While constructing your personal statement, I would suggest you write about how "technology impact business". We don't go deep in tech modules but we emphasis the utilisation of various technologies in various business sectors. You may explain the linkage between your daily exposure in IT (such as some new products or news) and your knowledge in the business sector.

Some more bg info, the three common pathways of our graduates are

Finance (including ibanks, usually in middle offices)

Consultancy

Tech (more to product management)

Entrepreneur
You may wish to include some of these at the end of your PS for your career aspirations. Make sure to link it with your previous experience.

University College London, University of London
University College London
London
Reply 2
Original post by Anonymous #1
Hi, I am a IMB student at UCL. While constructing your personal statement, I would suggest you write about how "technology impact business". We don't go deep in tech modules but we emphasis the utilisation of various technologies in various business sectors. You may explain the linkage between your daily exposure in IT (such as some new products or news) and your knowledge in the business sector.

Consultancy

Entrepreneur
You may wish to include some of these at the end of your PS for your career aspirations. Make sure to link it with your previous experience.