The Student Room Group

Get rid of a nagging feeling

Hi all,

I'm a student about to begin 2nd year Maths at uni. Before I was unsure about a switch to Engineering but, after asking the careers advisor, my tutor, and the Head of Engineering, it's clear that staying on Maths is objectively the best choice.

This is because I'm not particularly unhappy studying the course, especially now that I've completed first year (in which we have the least freedom of modules) with a decent grade, and the degree can definitely lead to the sectors of engineering that I'm interested in (computational stuff, like simulations engineering), and a maths degree makes me eligible for loads of masters degrees too.

But, I've just got this nagging feeling that makes me keep thinking of possibly switching, and I have no idea how to get rid of it. I have no idea exactly where it's coming from, maybe some part of me wants to do year 1 over again but thats irresponsible considering its not required for what Im interested in as a career as discussed with the careers guy, and it would be different anyway now that Im living off campus.

Feel like Im waffling, has anyone ever experienced a thought that they cant get out of their head or something like that (I might have anxiety that causes me to always worry about something, so could be that too)
The main thing is your feelings are always valid. Definitely take a pause and think things through objectively. You have many options, which is great! But maybe this is also making you anxious because you're not sure which way is the best one way for you. Maybe the thing to think about is there is no wrong path for you - just different but still great directions you can take. You're in a solid position no matter what you decide, so it's just a question of where you'll be happiest.
Reply 2
Original post by EAB11