The Student Room Group

Is mental health a contextual reason for bad gcses when applying to oxbridge?

I am currently a Year 12 student and for my GCSEs I obtained 887766666 which is obviously not typical for Oxbridge candidates . However these were grades my teachers gave me as exams were cancelled due to the pandemic meaning they had to decide my grades based on previous in class tests and test in class post-lockdown.

During Years 9 and 10, I was going through a lot of bullying and an traumatic event occurred which killed my motivation of school and honestly life in general. Furthermore, during COVID my father caught COVID which completely stressed me out and I couldn't concentrate on my upcoming GCSEs.

However now in Year 12 I feel I have recovered from my past (and my family is doing well) so I am determined that I can achieve the grades and do super-curricular activities preferred by Oxbridge. However I am concerned that my GCSE results may destroy a chance.

Also, If I were to apply to Oxbridge I would want to go to Oxford University as I would like to study Physics. However after a little research I heard that Oxford are more strict on GCSEs. Is this true?
Original post by meowscythe
I am currently a Year 12 student and for my GCSEs I obtained 887766666 which is obviously not typical for Oxbridge candidates . However these were grades my teachers gave me as exams were cancelled due to the pandemic meaning they had to decide my grades based on previous in class tests and test in class post-lockdown.

During Years 9 and 10, I was going through a lot of bullying and an traumatic event occurred which killed my motivation of school and honestly life in general. Furthermore, during COVID my father caught COVID which completely stressed me out and I couldn't concentrate on my upcoming GCSEs.