The Student Room Group

University of Surrey/ University of Portsmouth/Middlesex university

I'm a Pakistani student who has received an offer letter from all three universities for masters in digital marketing for the Jan/Feb intake. However, I'm on the fence regarding which university I should proceed with. One of my biggest concerns is the availability of odd jobs(or any kind) in Surrey. But if I do go for Middlesex university which is in a main city, the living expenses are gonna be a lot more in comparison to the other two options.
Hello 😊

I've just submitted my dissertation as part of my Digital Marketing and Channel Management MSc at the University of Surrey.

As an International student, there was a lot of research in making my choice to come to Surrey. The campus is extremely peaceful and well-located, less than an hour away from London by train. The modules' quality was amazing, the teaching was outstanding and up-to-date with a lot of newer and innovative strategies and the assignments were mostly practical with case studies, rather than just exams.

Regarding job availability, I'm not sure if you mean part-time while studying or post-grad job. International students have a 20-hour work limit during lecture periods, a 40-hour limit during holiday periods and no limit after your course end date.

If you're looking for a part-time job, Guildford offers a wide variety of part-time opportunities in retail and hospitality. Also, since there is amazing public transport for nearby towns, you have even more options. Personally, I've had a retail part-time and it was really good to help with my expenses and still maintain a good balance with studying. The University of Surrey also offers campus part-time opportunities, you can find out more about it here: https://www.surrey.ac.uk/fees-and-funding/managing-your-money/working-while-studying.