The Student Room Group

do I drop out

I’m currently studying nursing and it’s my first year I’m
Like halfway through the first semester and feel like I’m not really doing well here . I actually don’t mind my course the lectures are sometimes interesting and I’ve made a nice group of friends on my course we don’t rly do much outside of uni tho which is a shame. I get on with a couple people in my flat and then there is a large group of a couple different flats we all go out together but within this groups there is little groups formed and I don’t feel like I’m involved in any of them i don’t always get included which is a shame. I do have friends that l already knew here and since coming here some of them have now became some of my best friends I just feel guilty for relying on them sometimes and sometimes they don’t want to introduce me to their friends as I think they want to separate uni and home friends. I feel I’ve kind of not failed and I should of branched out more than what I have I just feel lonely and I was really looking forward to coming and making some new good friends but I haven’t and it’s making me miserable
@miawez123

You shouldn't drop out.

University is not all about friendships.

It may be that you are preoccupied with living a particular uni life and that this preoccupation is what is getting you down rather than your actual circumstances.

It sounds like there are lots of things are going really well for you, so try and focus on these things and remember that university is never going to be perfect.

Friendships grow and change, that's normal. Sometimes you will feel really tight with some people and other times you will feel closer to others: that's fine. When friendships get complicated, remember that you are at uni to get a degree!

All the best,

Oluwatosin 3rd year student University of Huddersfield
(edited 5 months ago)
Original post by miawez123