The Student Room Group

Can I request coursework extension 3rd year

Hi ,I am a 3rd year law student and I have a few law courseworks due soon .
I’ve been working really hard and trying to stay ontop of everything. It’s been quite difficult though and coming up to this time marks the anniversary of my grandads death and it’s been quite hard getting through these last few weeks . I have diagnosed ADHD which isn’t helping things I feel like I won’t be able to get all my work done on time. The final year is super important to me as it’s my final chance to get the grades for my future . My friend does criminology and she’s been able to request extensions for her courseworks, will this delay my graduation date , can i apply for an extension ?

Any help appreciated
Original post by Anonymous #1
I’ve been working really hard and trying to stay ontop of everything. It’s been quite difficult though and coming up to this time marks the anniversary of my grandads death and it’s been quite hard getting through these last few weeks . I have diagnosed ADHD which isn’t helping things I feel like I won’t be able to get all my work done on time. The final year is super important to me as it’s my final chance to get the grades for my future . My friend does criminology and she’s been able to request extensions for her courseworks, will this delay my graduation date , can i apply for an extension ?

Any help appreciated

Hi there,

I'm sorry to hear you have been struggling with your work load. Third year is a tough one, and I completely understand what you are going through!

Most universities tend to have a cut off of when you can apply for extensions that might defer graduation, and this is normally in the spring, but like I said this may differ. I can't imagine applying for an extension now will affect a summer graduation, but I would speak to the tutor who set the assignment to discuss your concerns. You have valid reasons to be able to apply for an extension!