The Student Room Group

Chances of Getting a Job after a Gap Year?

Hi I just wanted to come here to ask for people's views on my situation and for suggestions on how to take the next steps. I have now effectively been on a 'gap year' for just around 1 year after my last employment and I am finding it difficult to find job vacancies to apply to.

For background, I have a first class MEng degree in mechanical engineering from a top UK uni. A few months after graduation I moved to a different part of the country where I started my employment in the automotive industry. I worked at that place for a year but unfortunately I really didn't feel like I was a good fit for what I was doing, I didn't really like the town I was living in and the cost of living was pretty high so I decided to just leave that job and go back home to search for a different job and in the mean time do online courses and keep learning in other areas like programming, etc.

It turns out that finding a new job was a lot more daunting than I thought and it has now been a year and I haven't found anything. I know that I was probably premature to leave the previous job and instead I should have found ways to try new areas of work within the same company (and that is a lesson learned I will now have for the future).

But the facts at this moment are that even though I have a good degree and decent experience, it is now very difficult to find vacancies to apply to because I don't really have much experience for direct entry jobs, but also I am not really a graduate and I kind of need a job now instead of waiting for next September to start a grad scheme. Also my 'gap year' is a bit unusual since it is after my first job instead of right after uni.