The Student Room Group

University far away

It's still early for me as I am only a first year college student. However I want a complete fresh start to life I think, will I regret going to uni in like London (173 miles away) or should I stay local when I do apply?
173 miles isn’t very far? Depending on transport links it’s close enough for a day trip!
Some people travel to the other side of the world.

Have you visited London before? Did you enjoy the visit? Can you afford to live in London? Are you prepared for the daily commute?

Home or London aren’t your only options.

What do you want to study at university?
Original post by Anonymous #1
It's still early for me as I am only a first year college student. However I want a complete fresh start to life I think, will I regret going to uni in like London (173 miles away) or should I stay local when I do apply?

London is the best city in the world. 😀

Anon,

London is an exciting, cosmopolitan city, but it can also feel very big and lonely (if you are not from London and if you don't have friends or family there).

It might be an idea to think about whether you are a city person. Do you like the busyness, rush, and individualism that cities give or are you more about community, and seeing familiar faces, talking to people on the bus and in the street and having a more quiet pace of life?

Do you have family who live in or near London or friends who also plan to go to London, even if not the same university? It is useful to have people you know so that if everything does feel overwhelming or even if you feel a bit homesick ,there are people you can spend time with and reach out to.

In London, university campuses tend to be spread around the city, which may or may not suit you. It also useful to think about the cost: rent and transport (around London and also if you plan to go home frequently).