The Student Room Group

`Funding a MArch Masters in architecture without taking a year out using SFE

Hi there,

I am currently in my second year of studying an undergraduate (part 1) architecture degree. I am currently looking at the option of continuing straight on to a masters in architecture at my current university immediately after my undergraduate degree rather than taking a year out.

Does anyone know how much SFE funding I will qualify for? and whether the maintenance loan would still be means tested off of my household income?

I am trying to figure out whether part of the reason people take a year out is to fund their masters - or whether SFE will be able to help fund it for me and I can carry straight on?

Any help gratefully received!
Original post by ErikaDM
Hi there,

I am currently in my second year of studying an undergraduate (part 1) architecture degree. I am currently looking at the option of continuing straight on to a masters in architecture at my current university immediately after my undergraduate degree rather than taking a year out.

Does anyone know how much SFE funding I will qualify for? and whether the maintenance loan would still be means tested off of my household income?

I am trying to figure out whether part of the reason people take a year out is to fund their masters - or whether SFE will be able to help fund it for me and I can carry straight on?

Any help gratefully received!

Hi Erika,

Would this be the Riba part 2 you would be going into? Normally this would be funded under our undergraduate funding if there is no gaps and done straight after your RIba part 1.

The Part 2 course must be accredited by ARB to be considered for designation under the Undergraduate regulations. Courses accredited by both ARB and RIBA qualify for full support, however courses that are only accredited by RIBA are not designated for undergraduate support.

Thanks,
Claire
Original post by Claire SFE
Hi Erika,