The Student Room Group

advice

Hi there,
This probably sounds a little silly to be put on the student room but I wanted some other peoples thoughts.
I am in my first year at uni in halls, i have found living in halls quite difficult as i am very different to/dont really get on with my flatmates. In early november it got to the point where i now hardly ever go in the kitchen because my flatmates are in there alot. I go in the kitchen rarely in the early morning or when they've gone out on a night out.
I have looked into moving flats and got far into the process but i decided not to move as my room was nicer than what i was offered and i finish here in May so not too long.
I have tried really hard to bring myself to use the kitchen more when theyre either in the kitchen or all in their rooms but i found the stress its caused me not worth the hassle. I have adapted to this and still make sure i eat meals etc but I was wondering if i should get a travel kettle for my bedroom. This would allow me to do things like have a cup of tea stress free and if i really need have pot noodles etc in the evenings. Im not sure im allowed it in my accom but i think it would help me.
Is it something i should do/think about?
Hi, sorry to hear you’re having difficulties & social anxiety. I think a kettle sounds good, I wouldn’t bother asking your accoom officer. It’s not likely to cause a fire and if you didn’t know any different & it gets found out, just say it’s a mistake, sorry. I had a kettle & cupcake maker in my room. Our rooms were rarely inspected.
Original post by Anonymous #1
Hi there,
This probably sounds a little silly to be put on the student room but I wanted some other peoples thoughts.