The Student Room Group

Final Year crisis

Hi,

I’m currently a third year student in my final semester of university and I feel like I have wasted so much time. In three years I have made no friends and basically spent majority of my time in my room, which is something I have made peace With.

But now looking for jobs and getting no where, the whole thing just seems like a waste. If I had fun at uni or made friends, I would have felt like I had gotten something out of this but right now I don’t know how to feel. I’m annoyed at myself for not trying harder, but circumstances were also very weird the first two years.

I know I can’t change the past, I just want to get over it so I can focus on planning what’s next.

Has anyone been in a similar boat. How did you get over it?
Original post by Anonymous #1
Hi,

I’m currently a third year student in my final semester of university and I feel like I have wasted so much time. In three years I have made no friends and basically spent majority of my time in my room, which is something I have made peace With.

But now looking for jobs and getting no where, the whole thing just seems like a waste. If I had fun at uni or made friends, I would have felt like I had gotten something out of this but right now I don’t know how to feel. I’m annoyed at myself for not trying harder, but circumstances were also very weird the first two years.

I know I can’t change the past, I just want to get over it so I can focus on planning what’s next.

Has anyone been in a similar boat. How did you get over it?

Anon,

You know the things that you would change if you could, and so the important thing now is to remember that with your next step. If you get a job in a new place, then again you will have to choose whether you stay in your room or whether you try to get involved with different opportunities around you. It's okay to wish that things had been different but it's what you do going forward that counts.