The Student Room Group

Lonely and have no friends

Hi,

I am a second year uni student. I have 0 friends. I speak to no one. I feel really alone. It drives me insane. I am part of a club and have tried other clubs but none of it helps. I spend my whole time in complete silence. It's so hard for me to talk. I can talk for group work but it feels all forced. There's no one I'm comfortable with. I'm so alone. Im still not sure I even like my course. I'm achieving below my potential because I'm so lonely. I can barely concentrate. I have been applying for part time jobs for a while but have been unable to get one. I keep getting rejected. The whole thing is just really upsetting. I don't really have friends back home either. So essentially I'm alone. I don't know a future career with this degree. I don't know what to do anymore. I hate uni so much. It just feels like a waste.
Original post by Anonymous #1
Hi,

I am a second year uni student. I have 0 friends. I speak to no one. I feel really alone. It drives me insane. I am part of a club and have tried other clubs but none of it helps. I spend my whole time in complete silence. It's so hard for me to talk. I can talk for group work but it feels all forced. There's no one I'm comfortable with. I'm so alone. Im still not sure I even like my course. I'm achieving below my potential because I'm so lonely. I can barely concentrate. I have been applying for part time jobs for a while but have been unable to get one. I keep getting rejected. The whole thing is just really upsetting. I don't really have friends back home either. So essentially I'm alone. I don't know a future career with this degree. I don't know what to do anymore. I hate uni so much. It just feels like a waste.
That sounds really tough, maybe you should try and reconnect with some of your classmates from school as you might have some common ground to talk about even if you're not necessarily friends.