The Student Room Group

Student/lecturer relationships, how to improve?

I'm curious about perspectives/suggestions from both sides.

I'm currently in my first year of university, I'm really enjoying it and I do feel I have an okay relationship with my lecturers. Every time I see my lecturers we always remain professional, we're polite to each other, I don't have problems with my lecturers but if I do feel I have a problem with them, I will email them and ask for a tutorial with them and explain what my problem is with them, during the tutorial I'll do my best to try and get this resolved.

Although I have an okay relationship with my lecturers I feel like our professional relationships could improve a lot more on their side and my side. I know lecturers are busy but, I always feel they're hard to reach. I have to wait ages for a reply and whenever I talk to them in class or ask them a question regarding a topic I don't understand there seems to be a reluctance on their end to answer the question. I have to ask about three times before I get an answer.

I feel there's more issues but I can't think/list them of the top of my head at the moment. What I do know is I feel our professional relationship needs improvement. I feel that we're not working with each other, just against them. I'm curious, students/lecturers what's your advice on how our relationship could improve?
Original post by Anonymous #1
I'm currently in my first year of university, I'm really enjoying it and I do feel I have an okay relationship with my lecturers. Every time I see my lecturers we always remain professional, we're polite to each other, I don't have problems with my lecturers but if I do feel I have a problem with them, I will email them and ask for a tutorial with them and explain what my problem is with them, during the tutorial I'll do my best to try and get this resolved.