The Student Room Group

First year uni advice

Hey,

I’m in my first year of uni and I’m beginning to struggle a little. Since I came back from my reading week I’ve really struggled with motivation and I haven’t been doing as well. Before reading week I was so motivated and my grades were pretty good (65% and above which I was super happy with) but now I’m just flopping.
I’m not sure whether it’s because I’ve realised how much I have to learn or what but does anyone have any advice? Is it normal to do badly in first year? I study languages too and some of the mistakes I make are really stupid but the feedback I’ve had is quite harsh.

Thanks!
Reply 1
It's perfectly normal to have your ups and downs. Sounds like you're capable of getting very good grades so this is just an "off" period for you (if your grades really are much lower now, maybe you're being harsh with yourself). If you make grammar mistakes or forget vocab that could be down to being tired over a longer period so maybe some proper rest would do you good. Lecturers and seminar teachers are much harsher than your school teachers so don't take it so personally if their feedback isn't all glitter and smiles. Just keep enjoying being a student, don't let things like this get you down.
Don't take the feedback personally, a lot of universities have anonymous marking so it isn't directed at you on a personal level, they can't tailor it to match their relationship with you so try not to take it to heart.