The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Too much.

But everyone's in the same boat. I'm in my second year and still haven't mastered the art of hard work.
Reply 2
Everyone I know at Cambridge (even the supergeniouses) find it immensly hard :P
Reply 3
serrellen
I don't really do much/anything and have never really mastered the discipline of solid hard work.

Yeah exactly the same - i have an offer and this is exactly what I am worried about! Maybe if A Levels were more stretching, I might have developed a better work ethic!!

However, I'm sure that we're not the only ones that are in this position. I'm just gonna have to roll with it, and if there's ever a place to develop a work ethic and get the necessary support and guidance, it's Cambridge!!
serrellen
Have an offer but am so concerned about my poor work ethic. I don't really do much/anything and have never really mastered the discipline of solid hard work. Am I really going to struggle at Cambridge and if so how can I change this?! So worried!

Ditto

We'll drag one another through it! :smile:
Reply 5
LOL have to say I am glad I'm not the only one in this position! It's the unstructured nature of the work that scares me most! I mean... work independently?! Just won't happen!
Reply 6
I have the same worries, though I guess they wouldn't have given us offers if they didn't believe we could do the work.
Reply 7
I think you have to really enjoy the subject/s you're doing for independent study to be successfully possible. Last semester I was crap at not working from any set checklist; y'know finding the motivation to sit down and just do it. Happily though, over the festive period I did nothing to such an extent that I was extremely refreshed (sort of) and actually looking forward to getting into some derivations and problems (physics).