The Student Room Group
University College London, University of London
University College London
London

Free Health Cover! What does that mean?

I'm an international student holding an unconditional offer for LLB Law starting in September 2009.

I know I'm entitled to free health cover from UCL/NHS, whatever.. but what medical expenses are actually covered?! like is there any cover for emergency services and/or hospitalization in case of accidents or some illness.. what about common cold or flu?

Should I personally arrange for medical insurance? any suggestions regarding the kind of policies I should be looking for or where I can get them?
what do other international students plan on doing?

Thanks for reading.. would appreciate some help :smile:
University College London, University of London
University College London
London
Symphony7
I'm an international student holding an unconditional offer for LLB Law starting in September 2009.

I know I'm entitled to free health cover from UCL/NHS, whatever.. but what medical expenses are actually covered?! like is there any cover for emergency services and/or hospitalization in case of accidents or some illness.. what about common cold or flu?

Should I personally arrange for medical insurance? any suggestions regarding the kind of policies I should be looking for or where I can get them?
what do other international students plan on doing?

Thanks for reading.. would appreciate some help :smile:

I believe if you are staying here for study atleast 6 months then the NHS (rather stupidly) hands out free health care to people who haven't made the necessary tax contributions. Emergency treatment is available from the moment you arrive, as well it should be.

Health insurance, I am informed, will not be necessary, though dentistry and optometry are grey areas.
Reply 3
Thank you guys :smile:
I'm wont't be studying at UCL, but I had to work myself trough this stuff yesterday.

Where are you from?