The Student Room Group
Reply 1
Hi,
I am in a similar position, as I'm currently studying Japanese at A2, although I've decided not to go to Leeds.

I asked this at the open day and if I remember correctly, you have 4 contact hours (instead of 8 - but they expect you to do private study as well). I think you also get put into the advanced/accelerated group. I think that you are encouraged to be active in the Japan society to keep up your skills as well.

Hope that helped :smile:
Reply 2
Fraid I can't answer your question, but I can tell you that from the one year I spent at leeds uni, the Japanese soc seems very active, and there is a large Japanese community in the uni, who are lovely and keen to mix with English speakers. I have friends who are doing it and are studying in Japan for their second year and having an amazing time. Plus Leeds is a great place. Good luck!
Reply 3
Great stuff :smile:
Thanks folks!
I can't help you either, but I'm nosy and am interested in hearing how you went from being a prospective medic to a Japanese student?! :p:
Reply 5
Haha, well I applied to do medicine - but got rejected for all my offers.
So after a LOT of consideration, I went through extra to do Japanese :P
I love Japanese more than any of my other subjects, and figured that if I still wanted to to medicine after my degree, I'd go postgrad.
Reply 6
Tourbillion
Haha, well I applied to do medicine - but got rejected for all my offers.
So after a LOT of consideration, I went through extra to do Japanese :P

OMG me too, I got rejected from all my Medicine offers so i applied for Jap at Leeds through Extra. Im thinking of doing medicine in Japan too. This is a lil weird...
Reply 7
Hi guys
I'm (hopefully) graduating this summer with a degree in Japanese from Leeds University.
(so if you have any questions - do ask)