The Student Room Group

Help! Need to decide on a University Course...

Hi all. This may be a bit long but thanks for reading it if you do.

I'll hopefully be going to university next year. The current subjects I am studying for A2 are Mathematics, English Language and Literature and Chemistry, predicted A*, A and B/A respectively. However, I really don't know what course to choose and I need to figure it out pretty soon because I'm trying to write my personal statement, which is difficult when you don't know what your applying for :eek3:

I would love to be a writer/novelist in the future (or even a musician), but that dream doesn't require me to have a degree and so I think I'd be wasting my time if I chose to study English at University. Publishers will look at the novel they've been given, not at qualifications the writer has - I believe that a good novelist has the natural talent/ability, and so writing would be something I'd do on the side during University for my own pleasure and benefit. I love Mathematics because I'm good at it and it can be really interesting at times. I don't really want to narrow it down to engineering or accounting because I've known to love it in general. However I'm not sure what I would do with it once I leave University since I don't really want to be crunching numbers for the rest of my life, but then again I want to be fully grounded with a job that will get a decent amount of money for myself and my parents especially.