The Student Room Group

Engineering and IB DP Subject Combinations

Hey all!

I'm currently studying under the IB system which requires me to select 6 subjects that would determine my university course later. Here are my current combinations:

HL:
Math, Chemistry, Physics
SL:
Chinese B, English A, Business.

However, I am thinking of changing one of my HL science (phys or chem) to SL and Chinese to HL so I can get a higher score for my DP (Probably i will be changing my physics since im less proficient at it).

So my question is, will this affect me taking chemical engineering or mechanical engineering courses in the future? Am I still eligible for these engineering courses?

Thank you!
Reply 1
It could do, depends what university you would like to study at. I recommend you check the specific university / course requirements. I wouldn't drop Physics, since I'm pretty sure that'd be the most important subject of all for engineering - but I'm a humanities guy, so I'm not 100% :smile:
Reply 2
it sure is x.x but right now i have to spend alot of time in math and im not really comfortable in scoring for physics, so im afraid i have no time left to practice on my physics.

Universities im looking forward to are like NUS, hong kong poly or even universities in Canada or Australia.

by the way, i see some universities saying that a physics bridging module is required in the first year if a candidate goes for engineering courses with SL physics. Anyone have any idea if its going to be time-consuming or bad or something?
Reply 3
Original post by patrick455

Original post by patrick455
Hey all!

I'm currently studying under the IB system which requires me to select 6 subjects that would determine my university course later. Here are my current combinations:

HL:
Math, Chemistry, Physics
SL:
Chinese B, English A, Business.