The Student Room Group

Edinburgh vs. St. Andrews vs. Glasgow (in biosciences)?

I need to start thinking about my application choices soon, and I'm not sure which university would be the best for me. I am considering St. Andrews, Glasgow, Edinburgh, and also Aberdeen and Dundee.

I am an international student, but still from the EU taking the IB. At the moment I have about 41 points, but the second semester is not finished yet. I want to study something in the bioscience area, like Biochemistry or even pharmacology.

St. Andrews is internationally renowned, but I'm not sure if Edinburgh or Glasgow has a better "scientific and research" reputation. Also, the fact that St. Andrews is a tiny town worries me.

Which school do you think best fits me, or what would you do?

btw. Money IS an issue, which is one reason why Scotland is such a great option (SAAS). Plus, the chances of me getting a scholarship to schools like Cambridge are quite slim.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Obviously St. Andrews is world-renowned, but I'm not sure if the science program would be better or have more meaning for future career options if I went elsewhere. Opinions?

Also, if you have any other Universities where the Science programs are reputable please let me know.
Edinburgh is actually higher on the world University rankings than St Andrews.

However all three are very good Universities, and all would be good for sciences though maybe in Edinburgh or Glasgow you'd have more access to hospitals and clinical settings.

Any other Universities with reputable science programmes? Well any good ones, I've heard good things about KCL, Birmingham and Newcastle's Biomed courses and Oxford have recently started offering it too.
Original post by Juliak
I need to start thinking about my application choices soon, and I'm not sure which university would be the best for me. I am considering St. Andrews, Glasgow, Edinburgh, and also Aberdeen and Dundee.