The Student Room Group

I can already tell that i am a TERRIBLE driver :( Where should i be? Any advice?

Hi everyone... as mentioned in the title, I am a bad driver, and i just wondered where i should be at this stage? (please don't say everyone is different lol I'm thinking of an average or where you were after having the same amount of tuition as me)

I have had 4 lessons (7 hours worth as some lessons were 2hrs each) so far and i am still having major issues with the basics!
For example, i cant steer well, my instructor says i 'drift' all the time and i don't position myself well, on top of me not judging how much to steer when turning a corner!
My instructor is constantly having to tell me how much to turn, where to position myself and to straighten up etc. as well as constantly telling me when to change gear and reminding me what to do every time i need to turn a corner, turn left/right at a junction, slow down or stop!
Also, my instructor is still having to use the dual controls lots and also grab the steering wheel loads of times too!
Oh, i also have trouble changing gears, i never know where the gear stick is so i find myself looking out the corner of my eye and then my steering goes wonky! I know i do this but i cant seem to stop! also when trying to change gear i have trouble moving it and it gets stuck and say im changing from 1 to 2 sometimes it ends up at 4 and the instructor has to sort it out! :angry:

The only thing i can do is set off (with no instruction but not very well), pull up (although my position is usual wonky) and do my 'msm' when turning at a junction (which is probably about 9/10 times).
Also, i have spent today going over the 'mspsgl' routine today to try and tackle my issue of not knowing what to do when turning at junctions! I just hope it doesn't go out of my head when i'm driving as that is probably what will happen!