The Student Room Group

Mature students entry 2007

hello, anyone else out there?

I'm 32 and currently working as a programmer for my sins. Quit my degree course 7 years and have been aimlessly wandering since.

Finally have built up a cash reserve and decided to go for it, after all it's only money right? :p:

Right now I'm primarily interested in Nottingham, Cambridge, Glasgow and Dublin... but why oh why are all the schools situated in such hideously expensive cities?

I did maths, chem & biology A-levels back in 1992 but I think I'm going to have to sit them again. Took a look at the BMAT tests today, and you may laugh at me again in 6 months time, but I'm prepared to say now that I thought they looked quite easy. :biggrin:

I currently have 2 horses, 3 dogs and 1 cat and I intend that they come with me.
Reply 1
I'm a mature student am looking at 2008 entry though
Reply 2
It's probably going to be 2008 for me too, because by the time I've gained whatever qualifications they want me to get, sell my house, transport my posessions/animals back to the UK - well, I don't really want to have to try and do all that in the next 12 months AND hold down a full-time stressful job.

So which unis do you fancy? Right now I'm swinging towards Nottingham because I really fancy a campus uni, I've done the big city thing and I really am a country girl and would rather be based in one area. I'd also quite fancy Glasgow but unless they drop their fees I'd have to think twice.

What are you doing now and what has led you back to vet sci?
Reply 3
I'm a mature student looking at 2008 entry as well! Wow, we really seem to be multiplying. For ages there hasn't really been anyone on this site in the same situation as me but recently there seem to be more mature peeps planning to do vet med.:biggrin: