The Student Room Group

some questions

Hey everyone.

I'm a 17-year-old Scottish student, and recently received my Higher results (pretty good!). I'm thinking of going to London to study for a year, before moving on to who knows what/where. But there are certain things I'm unsure of.

First off, can I still go? I realize I've left this late, but I really want to try it out. I've been looking at "sixth form" colleges, which appears to be where I'd go to do A levels. Are these colleges still accepting applications to A Level courses?

I'm not looking to do a specific course, but a variety of A Level subjects. Thing is, I'm not entirely sure how the A Level system works, especially in relation to the Scottish Higher system. I've read that doing A levels takes 2 years, and that it is equivalent to the Scottish advanced higher course. But having spent a year doing Higher, is that not equivalent to a year of A Level study? If so, would I be able to skip a year? Also, what exactly is the difference between AS and A2?

Finally, if I am still able to go, are there any Sixth Form colleges in London you'd recommend?

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Reply 1
First off, can I still go? I realize I've left this late, but I really want to try it out. I've been looking at "sixth form" colleges, which appears to be where I'd go to do A levels. Are these colleges still accepting applications to A Level courses?

I assume so - you'll have to contact any that you're interested in directly in order to find out more about their application process. Usually if they have spare places and you have good grades then they'll accept you - it is not very common for colleges to now become 'over-subscribed'.

I've read that doing A levels takes 2 years, and that it is equivalent to the Scottish advanced higher course. But having spent a year doing Higher, is that not equivalent to a year of A Level study?