The Student Room Group
Students on campus, Nottingham University
University of Nottingham
Nottingham
Visit website

Any biotechnology students?

just trying to track down any other biotechnology students, i cant seem to find anyone :redface:
Reply 1
I'm a first year biotechnology student :smile:
Students on campus, Nottingham University
University of Nottingham
Nottingham
Visit website
Reply 2
I'm a first year student of biotechnology :smile:
Oh cool, are you living on campus?
Reply 4
i'm in second year biotech so if you have any questions, go for it :]
What's the course like, have you enjoyed it so far? And do you have any tips/advice?
Reply 6
the course itself, for the first year, is very easy. you'll be on campus and really close to the lecture halls, so rolling out of bed at 8:50 and 1:50 (for 9am and 2pm lectures respectively ) are absolutely no problem. - as an added bonus to this, you get to laugh at the vet students in lectures 9-5, and the fact they have to wake up at the crack of dawn when they're on rotation. pay attention though and go to the lectures, hell, its easy enough. make notes, independant learning and that... don't buy the textbooks, you can find them all on google, or in the library (not gonna lie i like the library, people tend to convene there wierdly more than at the bar).

the lab experience is good, but pay attention! you actually need the knowledge to do some of the coursework, especially in genetics and cell biology. also, eat before labs, as some of them are painfully long, and take place after lectures. don't lose your student card or you'll have hell getting into buildings. also, don't lose your meal card, or you can't get dinner (but you could potentially print a copy off and stick your face on it, obvs i didn't do this, that'd bypass the £5 replacement fee :wink:.