The Student Room Group
Goldsmiths, University of London
Goldsmiths College, University of London
London

Is it just me that feels cripplingly lonely?

I'm a fine art student and honestly I haven't really gotten to know anybody, or even said 'hi' more than once a week to people I see in my studio or flat.

I've always been a loner so I'm used to it and I can entertain myself (I'm a gamer and I watch a lot of catch up tv and I also have a girlfriend that I see on weekends), but I always thought uni would be different, that I would make a change and my life would be completely different and full of new people.

I realise you may be thinking I'm simply not making an effort but honestly I do try, I approach people in my studio and try talk to them a bit and my flatmates too, probably doesn't help that all my flatmates other than 1 (but he's foreign and I think a bit older, I'm 19) and studio sharers are female and I'm male, I feel that is just an excuse though. Anyway I don't know what's the norm here but I'm kind of struggling being alone.