The Student Room Group

Lawyer and lost, need careers advice

I qualified as a lawyer in Australia. After working as a graduate lawyer (which isn't a full lawyer role) I decided that I didn't want to do it because the work environment and the nature of the work was too aggressive. Aggressive to the point that you couldn't talk to your colleagues without them challenging every single thing you said: I have had some really unpleasant experiences. I really only took that role because I needed a job and this was the first offer in over a year. This was after doing three years of legal work experience with barristers and other law firms on a part to full time basis, receiving various promotions along the way. I ultimately moved back to the UK in part because there were no jobs where I was.

I got a Bachelor of Laws which was awarded with 2B Honours in Australia. I understand that this equates to a 2.2 here, which isn't good enough to get into most high profile companies. However, I was homeless during two years of my degree and had other serious issues to deal with but had no real alternative but to continue as the job market was rubbish, among other reasons. At the time I didn't tell my lecturers, though the university counsellor did know what was going on.

After this I started a Masters in teaching and got a GPA of 6.33 out of 7, which isn't too shabby. However, I haven't been listing this on my CV because I don't want to distract from the law. I don't know if this is the right approach.