The Student Room Group

Anybody else really wanting to leave university?

You don't have to read all this but I just want to know if anybody else is wanting to leave uni?

I'm at university. Luckily in the summer I was offered a degree which initially I thought I would do well at. It is a combination of the sciences and humanities. One term in and I am hating it.

For the past assignments I've been getting only 50's. Which hurts because I did well at A-levels. I put in a lot of effort and still get a low grade. I even had my friend from another uni on a similar degree who is doing better check my work and it still got into the 50's:confused:

I have made no friends at university. I am a first year undergrad. I know this is a fault of my own but seriously, people seem to form cliques very quick and it seems people are friends with who they live in halls with. I do go to societies when I can but many are held at night and revolve around night life and drinking which I'm not really into.

I've lost motivation aswell. I mean what am I going to do with my course? I barely enjoy the lessons / lectures anymore. I'm not really connecting with my module convenors. My tutor suggests I see a counsellor but having seen 5 previously before uni I know I don't need to go. Studying for my degree isn't even willing it's more like a chore.

Scroll to see replies

I know so many people who feel like this, i felt like this in my first year too. But i didnt let it get to me. For me it was just temporary feelings. I know i WANT to complete my degree and and hopefully do my masters and phd

Just dont lose sight of the bigger picture. If you truly want to do the degree and love your subject just carry on.

ive lost motivation like 1000 times, but i think thats only normal for students

dont let the stress get to you
Reply 2
What would you suggest I do?

I also wanted to do a Masters or at least I wanted to. But now it seems out of bounds.
Original post by AthiaKarim