The Student Room Group

PhD Quantum mechanics

Hi everybody!

A bit of technical advice would be appreciated - thanks very much in advance :smile:

I have a 1st class degree (three year BSc) in maths from a respected university and I would like to pursue my strong interest in quantum mechanics by doing a PhD in that area, specifically quantum gravity/quantum field theory.

The thing that's on my mind is that my degree is a pure maths degree (i.e. not maths with physics, etc), although I did a bit of introductory special relativity and quantum mechanics during my course.
Much (>80%) of what I studied was pure maths.
In my mind, this has one major advantage and one major disadvantage as far as doing a PhD in quantum is concerned:

Advantage:
Unlike many pure physics courses, I have been indoctrinated with much of the pure maths knowledge one would need to pursue an interest in quantum mechanics, as quantum is (when done properly) pretty much pure maths anyway.

Disadvantage:
Although I have the pure maths knowledge, I do not have anything but the basic knowledge of relativity/quantum (although being a maths course, the approach to relativity/quantum was quite rigorous).

Where does all of this leave me in terms of a PhD?

Is it absolutely necessary to have done more quantum mechanics prior to a PhD in the field, as the first year (or two) of the PhD will be 'brushing up' on what I need to know anyway?

I don't want to have to do a theoretical physics MSc if I can help it, but do I realistically have an option?

Thanks again for any advice :smile:
Original post by privat
Hi everybody!

A bit of technical advice would be appreciated - thanks very much in advance :smile:

I have a 1st class degree (three year BSc) in maths from a respected university and I would like to pursue my strong interest in quantum mechanics by doing a PhD in that area, specifically quantum gravity/quantum field theory.