The Student Room Group

Living cost in London as a PhD student

Hello. I have an offer to study at UCL. The stipend is around 21k. I am an international student and wondered if this is enough to live in a central place. Live " comfortably" I should say. That's around 1765 a month. Thank you for any suggestions.
(edited 1 month ago)
I doubt you're going to be living in Central London on a PhD stipend unless you are able to get a place in halls for the whole duration which I think is unlikely. Most likely you'd be living in outer boroughs and heading into the uni via tube which is what most London students do after moving out of halls I gather. Or living outside London and commuting in via train.
Reply 2
Original post by artful_lounger
I doubt you're going to be living in Central London on a PhD stipend unless you are able to get a place in halls for the whole duration which I think is unlikely. Most likely you'd be living in outer boroughs and heading into the uni via tube which is what most London students do after moving out of halls I gather. Or living outside London and commuting in via train.

Thanks for the insight. It would seem that living outside i would be able to maintain with my stipend
Original post by chirax_360
Thanks for the insight. It would seem that living outside i would be able to maintain with my stipend

I don't live in London personally (I commute as an undergrad student in london) but I think most other London students after first year halls live a bit further out (e.g. 30mins by tube).
Reply 4
Hello. I have an offer to study at UCL. The stipend is around 21k. I am an international student and wondered if this is enough to live in a central place. Live " comfortably" I should say. That's around 1765 a month. Thank you for any suggestions.

If it's ok with you, which course did you get your offer for?
Reply 5
Original post by artful_lounger