Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

How do you make friends?

University Navigation

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

Well this is going to sound pathetic, however I suppose I feel like this might be of some sort of help to me. I am a second year student at the University of Southampton yet I find myself in the position of not having any friends other than my lone housemate, himself having multiple different other friendship groups that he spends the majority of his time with. Conversely, I spend most of my time in our house, alone, because there isn't anything else I can do. I feel as if people are not interested in communicating with me when I am around them and even if we end up talking, which I always attempt to do so, they seem to quickly brush me away and not want to have anything to do with me. Any friends that I have ever had in my life have always left, they seemingly haven't wanted me as part of their lives any longer. This is a trend, and as a result of this all I can think about is that there must be something ctriticly wrong with me. I try to be the best person that I possibly can be, but this does not seem to effect anything, it is always the same outcome. I have a few hobbies which I enjoy involving myself in, however the lack of human interaction is beginning to completely turn me away from anything other than lying in bed and hoping somebody might message me asking me how I am, or that something might change, or maybe even myself just not waking up; of course this is not the case. I feel so alone, so unwanted, so unattractive and a burden, it is making me incredibly upset and very difficult to see anything remotely positive about life. I'm not sure what to do. This is effectively ruining my life, it's driving me towards the edge. I like to think I have something to offer people, to offer to humanity, however I don't believe anybody else thinks this,