The Student Room Group

How to prepare for retakes, and how to juggle AS & A2?

Well i have totally cocked up my exams, got the bloody alphabet (ABCD) very very depressed... i will have to retake 6 modules in Jan ... , how do i prepare for the retake exams? And how do i juggle AS and the new A2 load and information?

I'm also going to take 3 A2 Maths modules along with my 6 modules of retakes in Jan. So if someone could please take me through how I should go about my revision etc, and how to not let the A2's slack.

Also i wanted to know how i can reject a grade; the D in Politics.

FYI, i will be retaking:

-AS Gov't & Pol 3 units (self taught)
-Chemistry Nuffield 2 units
-Maths S1

Thank you

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I too got very disappointing results. Economics for me is the biggest worry because I did equally poorly in all 3 modules so I shall have to retake the whole AS year again. History is easier as I got AAU - retake the U of course!

I have never been more depressed in my life.
Reply 2
I need to imporove mine and i need to learn to juggle just like you!
Its going to be hard but im go flat out from now on to improve this!

Good Luck All
Reply 3
My school tell us to add up the total number of retakes + A2 units, and take just under half in January, which might mean leaving some AS retakes until June. Otherwise it's possible that the January A2 units will suffer and you'll just have to re-take those in the summer.
I was only 4/5 marks away from a B in Physics, should I retake a module or just work extra hard next year? :smile:
MathematicalMind
I was only 4/5 marks away from a B in Physics, should I retake a module or just work extra hard next year? :smile:

I'd say retake a module. AS modules are a lot easier than A2 so you want to build up as many marks as you can at AS.

I got 2 marks off an A in Chem and am going to resit my B module to try to bump it up to an A.
Reply 6
bohemian