The Student Room Group

Is it me or my driving instructor??

Hey guys. I'm really confused on what to do, so I'm here for some kind of advice on my situation.

I'm 21, and have been doing driving lessons for just under 1 year. I was really, really nervous so I chose a specific instructor who had pretty good reviews. I feel like I've picked driving up really quickly, I'm rarely nervous on the roads and I can manage to drive safely while holding a conversation with my instructor. Most lessons, I find I've driven to our destination without even paying much attention. My instructor reckons I'm a great driver too.

But, the problem is, I've failed my driving test 3 times now.

1st test: Admittedly, my own fault. I took it 6 months after starting lessons, and I was stupidly nervous. I failed before we even got out of the test centre - my hands were shaking so violently I struggled to pull the handbrake up fully, so we rolled back just a tiny bit. "Serious" fail straightaway. (On a side note, if you get 1 serious or dangerous and have immediately failed, I don't see why they let you continue the test?).

2nd test: I got 4 serious minors. These were:
1. For slowing down when somebody quickly reversed out of their driveway on a bend. The man in the car hadn't seen me, so I slowed down. Obviously I didn't want to crash into him, but apparently, according to my instructor, I should have. Okay then..
2. At a roundabout. I was waiting to pull out when a car coming from the right hand side was indicating left, and started pulling into the junction on their left. As I pulled out, they changed their mind and almost collided into me, so I braked. Not sure who was in the wrong there.
3. I was in the right hand lane, which was fine, apparently. The minor came from the fact I didn't move into the left lane quickly enough which was fair enough, but there was a long truck on my left, so I didn't have a chance to until it had safely gone further ahead.