The Student Room Group

Irish Leaving cert/ A levels

__
https://myucd.ucd.ie/programme_info/alevel.ezc

From the look of it, at the table at the bottom, no (three As at A-Level get you 450, 1 A at AS gets you 75). Doesn't mention anywhere on the site about GCSE grades, so i would assume they don't count, beyond meeting the other requirements (i'm no expert though).

I know its a rather obvious response, but the best thing to do is to contact the university, and ask them.
No, only your A-Levels would count. Trinity is the only university here to do a fair A-Level/Leaving Cert conversion, though I'm fairly sure the others do point conversion also. Matriculation requirements are minimum entry requirements..for example, EVERYBODY needs maths, english and (in most courses) a foreign language, and all Irish students need Irish as well.

Courses that are over 510 are difficult for A-Level students to get into. This is because A-Level grades are much more vague than ours, and AAAA is worth the equivalent in CAO points of anything from 510-600, so for example, it would be really scabby if you actually had 520, and got the place ahead of an Irish student with 560.
Yes..but in the Leaving Cert, everyone does 7 subjects, sometimes more. Granted, not as in depth...but still, you should need 4 A-Levels for courses that are 520 points+. If you really wanted to go to a uni in Ireland, could you not take a subject outside school and be examined in it? People do that here. A minority of uni courses here are over 500 points, but they're the ones that are most in demand. The OP would have absolutely no problem doing a course that's 410 with 3 A-Levels.
Reply 4
maloreygorey
sorry if this thread is in the wrong place :confused:

ive applied to uni in ireland (UCD) for vet med and a few other courses as well. I already have an offer for nottingham, but would prefer to go to dublin if i got an offer.