The Student Room Group

Chemical Engineering BEng vs Chemistry BSc

Could somebody informed on both degrees compare the two? I love chemistry, PURE math and Physics. Please help me figure out which would be better for me
Reply 1
Original post by PotatoTheCelery
Could somebody informed on both degrees compare the two? I love chemistry, PURE math and Physics. Please help me figure out which would be better for me

There's not much chemistry in chemical engineering.

Also engineering is APPLIED not pure maths.

Hope this helps :biggrin:
Hi! I'm a chemical engineering student at the University of Bath and I was in the same position as you when choosing my degree options.

As Doonesbury said, there's not much chemistry in chemical engineering and we do not study much pure maths.

In first year, we are taught the basics of chemistry, biology and physics to bring everyone up to speed as everyone took different A-levels (or equivalents). We go a little beyond A-level in this but not much. Physical chemistry (mostly thermodynamics) underpins a large proportion of engineering, but this is probably more like the thermodynamics you studied in physics combined with some of physical chemistry.

In terms of maths, we have lectures from the maths department nearly all years, with first year covering what tends to be covered in A-level maths and further maths. Differentiation, integration and differential equations are a fundamental part of every part of engineering and we study differential equation solving in depth (including MATLAB). I am a second year student and I know that I study further maths next semester and next year, but I am unsure exactly what that entails. I enjoy this level of maths - I get to do all of the things I enjoyed at A-level without going too far into the abstract and very theoretical maths that is taught in a maths degree.