The Student Room Group

Biomedical sciences & physician associate

I'm currently studying btec level 3 national extended diploma in health and social care.
I would like to attend uni and study biomedical sciences then do a postgraduate degree in physician associate.
Is it worth it?
Is it hard to get a job as a PA in the UK?
It's worth it if that's what you want to do. In no field will jobs just land in your lap. You need to work towards getting them through grades and work experience.
Original post by Zahra840
I'm currently studying btec level 3 national extended diploma in health and social care.
I would like to attend uni and study biomedical sciences then do a postgraduate degree in physician associate.
Is it worth it?
Is it hard to get a job as a PA in the UK?
I’m graduating from Biomedical science next year and have considered studying for the physicians associate qualification. I spoke to my university careers advisor about it so I can pass on the info she gave me!
1 - physicians associate study is incredibly intense, more so than undergraduate study. So even after completion of your BMS degree, you’re looking at two further years of demanding study so it takes a lot of commitment, 5 years in total.
2 - entry to physicians associate courses require a 2:1, as do graduate medicine degrees. So for an extra two years you could qualify as a doctor and have better career and income prospects.
3 - ‘Apparently’ conversion from physicians associate to a doctor isn’t well structured. So you could potentially be stuck in the same job role for a long time!

Like I said, This is only the opinion of one careers advisor but I hope it’s useful! Also, physicians associates are relatively new in the NHS but it’s thought that demand will increase in years to come therefore job searching shouldn’t be too hard!
(edited 4 years ago)